Traffic Jam

Todays assignment: A picture of cars on a high way and the words Traffic Jam

The car was an embarrassment. It was old, rusty and slow, so after getting on to the high way he stayed on the right lane behind a truck from Tennessee.

Maybe his dad was right. Maybe he should forget his dream about becoming a documentary filmmaker and just get a job and make money and get a new car and his own flat. Living in his parent’s basement at age 24 somehow was embarrassing too.

Guy had finished film school  with high hopes three months ago, but so far he hadn’t gotten anywhere near a suitable job.

He looked at the paper his dad had given him the night before. It was lying on the passenger seat next to him, and there was a name, address and time written on it.

“There is a job opening for a driver in another branch office,” his dad had said. “I talked to my boss and he agreed to arrange a job interview because you are my son, so please behave”.

Guy hadn’t said anything, just nodded. And now he was on his way to the interview.

Right after Littleton the traffic got slower and before he had reached the toll booth, all cars were standing still.

The driver of the car next to him started honking.

“Great,” Guy thought, “The jam itself isn’t annoying enough. Now I have to listen to that idiot as well.”

He rolled up the window, but regretted it a moment later and rolled the window down again. It was too hot and his car had no air condition.

“I wonder why we are standing still,” he thought, opened the door and went out.

He looked ahead, even stepped onto the roof of his car, but all he could see were standing cars.

Great, he thought again, now I’m going to be late for my job interview.

He turned to the car in next to him, who’s driver in the meantime had stopped honking.  The car had a logo on the door that reminded Guy of something, and it took a little while before he realized that it actually was the logo of a company he had hoped to work for. He had sent them his CV 2 months ago, but hadn’t heard back from them.

“Wow,” he thought, and in the same moment the driver of the car opened his door and got out.

“Christ,” the driver said, “what a crap sheet. Where you able to see anything?” He pointed at the roof of Guys car.

“No, not really,” Guy replied, “Nothing but cars standing still.”

He wondered if he could ask the guy for a job interview now, but couldn’t really decide, when he all the sudden realized that he was staring at him.

“I’m sorry,” he said, “I’m staring at you. It’s just that I recognize you from an event at my school last year. You are Peter Willoughby, aren’t you?”

The other nodded.

“You’re a kind of hero of mine,” Guy continued. “I would love to work for you.”

“Oh, right”. Willoughby said.

“Yes.” Guy said. “I also send you my CV. Maybe you didn’t read it?”

He began to feel embarrassed. It was clear that Willoughby didn’t have a clue about, who he was. How could he.

“I get tons of letters with CV’s,” Willoughby answered. “I haven’t read any of them lately. I didn’t have the time.”

He sent Guy a scrutinizing look.

“But you know what? Since we met here anyway, why not make an interview now? I actually have to find myself an assistant. “

He looked ahead and realized that the cars further down the high way started driving.

“Well, it’s not going to be now then, but you know what, here is my card. I am going to be at this address all day tomorrow, preparing my gear for a trip. Come and see me about 11 am”.

He got into his car, started the engine, waved at Guy and when the cars in front of him started rolling, he drove off.

Guy stood and looked after him, and it was first when the driver behind him started honking, that he got into his car. He carefully put the card into his wallet and then he too drove off.

He didn’t go to the interview his dad had set up, but left the high way at the next chance he got, and when he arrived home, he threw the paper, his father had given him, out.

He finally got his chance and he would make absolutely sure to get the job.

Leave a comment